How to play the mode of major scale

On the in the key of

Modes of a scale are constructed by moving the root note (tonic) on the different degrees of this scale. There are seven modes in the major scale, these are the most important modes. Modes are also names as ecclesiastical modes or church modes.

ModeNotesIntervalScale degree
C♯ ionian (also known as Major scale)C♯, D♯, F, F♯, G♯, A♯, Cw-w-h-w-w-w-h
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
IID♯ dorianD♯, F, F♯, G♯, A♯, C, C♯w-h-w-w-w-h-w
1, 2, ♭3, 4, 5, 6, ♭7
iiiF phrygianF, F♯, G♯, A♯, C, C♯, D♯h-w-w-w-h-w-w
1, ♭2, ♭3, 4, 5, ♭6, ♭7
ivF♯ lydianF♯, G♯, A♯, C, C♯, D♯, Fw-w-w-h-w-w-h
1, 2, 3, ♯4, 5, 6, 7
VG♯ mixolydianG♯, A♯, C, C♯, D♯, F, F♯w-w-h-w-w-h-w
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ♭7
VIA♯ aeolian (also known as Minor scale)A♯, C, C♯, D♯, F, F♯, G♯w-h-w-w-h-w-w
1, 2, ♭3, 4, 5, ♭6, ♭7
viiC locrianC, C♯, D♯, F, F♯, G♯, A♯h-w-w-h-w-w-w
1, ♭2, ♭3, 4, ♭5, ♭6, ♭7

C locrian

C locrian scale notes

Relative chords of

To understand a mode better, it is recommended to play the patterns starting with the root note. The root is a very important note which gives its name to a scale.

In the following table you can see which chord belongs to which mode, starting from the major scale.
As you see, for C locrian the C♯ is the chord that belong to the major scale.
So you can say that Another fun fact is that the sixth chord is A♯m, which relates to the minor scale.

ModeTriadSeventh chord
C♯ ionian (Major scale)C♯ (C♯, F, G♯)C♯ maj7 (C♯, F, G♯, C)
IID♯ dorianD♯m (D♯, F♯, A♯)D♯m7 (D♯, F♯, A♯, C♯)
iiiF phrygianFm (F, G♯, C)Fm7 (F, G♯, C, D♯)
ivF♯ lydianF♯ (F♯, A♯, C♯)F♯ maj7 (F♯, A♯, C♯, F)
VG♯ mixolydianG♯ (G♯, C, D♯)G♯7 (G♯, C, D♯, F♯)
VIA♯ aeolian (Minor scale)A♯m (A♯, C♯, F)A♯m7 (A♯, C♯, F, G♯)
vii locrianC dim (C, D♯, F♯)C half dim7 (C, D♯, F♯, A♯)

What do the roman numbers in music mean?

Roman numerals are the symbols most commonly used to describe how chords work within keys. Keys in music are sets of notes built on repeating patterns, like major and minor.

In the roman numeral system for chords, I (or i) means one, and V (or v) means five. Harmonic analysis uses roman numerals to indicate chords in the music. The numeral indicates the scale step (scale degree) of the root of the chord.
The format of the roman numeral indicates the chord quality, as follows:

  • For major or augmented chords, an uppercase Roman numeral is used. Example: I, II, III, etc.
  • For minor or diminished chords, a lowercase Roman numeral is used. Example: i, ii, iii, etc.
  • For diminished chords, a ° (degree) sign is added. Example: vi°, vii°, etc.
  • For augmented chords, a + (plus) sign is added. Example: I+, II+, III+, etc.
  • For half-diminished chords, a Ø sign is added. Example: viiØ7, etc.
  • For extended chords, numbers are added. Example: ii7, V9, V13, etc.
  • For altered tones/chords, either ♯ or ♭ is added. Example: ♯iv, ii♯7, , ♭III